Choose Fabletics if you want a lower price per outfit, broader size options and you are comfortable with a membership model. Choose Lululemon if you want to buy once without a subscription, prefer its fabric feel and want a bigger men's line. The biggest difference is not the clothes but how you pay: Fabletics's VIP membership costs $69.95 per month unless you skip, while Lululemon sells at premium list prices with a 30-day return window. We have not tested either brand ourselves; this comparison uses published terms and common owner and reviewer feedback. If you hate subscriptions, skip Fabletics or compare with Gymshark.
Brand vs brand
Fabletics vs Lululemon (2026): Which Is Better?
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Brands can’t pay for placement, and it never changes our picks. How we make money.
Quick verdict
At a glance
| Fabletics | Lululemon | |
|---|---|---|
| Known for | Subscription-driven affordable activewear (PowerHold, Define, Oasis) co-founded with Kate Hudson; heavy discounting for VIP members. | Premium yoga and training apparel, famous for the buttery Align legging and a big men's line (ABC pants, Pace Breaker shorts). |
| Price tier | Mid | Premium |
| Return window | — | 30 days |
| Guarantee / trial | — | — |
| Shipping | VIP members: free shipping on qualifying orders; non-member terms not stated | — |
| Size range | OSFM, XXS–XXL, 1X–4X (Define PowerHold per product page) | Women's 0–20 (Align, Wunder Train); men's XS–3XL (Pace Breaker), XS–5XL (ABC) |
| Founded | 2013 | 1998 |
Their best products, head to head
Leggings
| Fabletics Define PowerHold High-Waisted Legging | Lululemon Fast and Free High-Rise Tight 25" (7-pocket) | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $84.95 | $128 seen $89 |
| For | Women | Women |
| Sizes | OSFM, XXS–XXL-1X, 2X–4X | 2–14 |
| Fabric | 88% polyester, 12% elastane (PowerHold) | 84% nylon, 16% Lycra elastane (Nulux) |
| Rise | Ultra | High |
| Inseam options | 7/8, Regular, Tall | 25″ |
| Pockets | None | Multi |
| Fabric feel | Compressive | Smooth |
| Compression | 4/5 | 3/5 |
| Squat-proof claim | Silent | Silent |
| Flared | No | No |
| Fleece-lined | No | No |
| Comfort (our rating) | 4/5 | 4/5 |
| Performance (our rating) | 4/5 | 5/5 |
| Durability (our rating) | 4/5 | 4/5 |
| Value (our rating) | 4/5 | 3/5 |
| Returns | — | 30 days |
| Check price | Check price |
Fabletics vs Lululemon is a classic budget-versus-premium matchup. Here is how they compare on what we could verify.
Price
Lululemon is premium priced; a signature legging like the Align is about $98 at full price. Fabletics sits in the mid-price tier, and its pricing depends on membership.
According to the brand's membership page, VIP membership costs $69.95 per month, charged on the 6th. Between the 1st and 5th you can take a Member Credit or skip. Credits can be used on any 2-piece outfit or item up to $100, and unused credits lapse 12 months after issue. If you forget to skip, you are charged. Read the terms carefully before you sign up.
Fabric and feel
Lululemon's Align uses Nulu (listed as 80% nylon and 20% Lycra elastane), often described by owners as buttery. Fabletics is known for PowerHold, a supportive, compressive fabric, and Define and Oasis lines. Owners commonly say Lululemon feels softer and more consistent, while Fabletics offers good value and supportive fits. Quality reports vary by style, and we have not tested either.
Fit and sizing
Lululemon's pages we read list women's 0–20 and men's XS–3XL. Fabletics's pages we read list OSFM, XXS–XXL and 1X–4X on Define PowerHold. For plus-size shoppers, Fabletics's range is a plus; check availability by style.
Use our leggings finder and size guide to narrow by rise, length and feel.
Leggings head-to-head
See our Align review for Lululemon's benchmark. For Fabletics, PowerHold is the best-known legging. Browse the leggings hub.
- Softness: Lululemon.
- Support and hold: Fabletics PowerHold, according to owners.
- Price per pair: Fabletics, if you use credits.
- No-strings buying: Lululemon.
Best for...
- Budget shoppers who will use the membership: Fabletics.
- One-off purchases: Lululemon.
- Plus-size ranges: Fabletics, per its published sizes.
- Men's workouts: Lululemon's catalog is larger.
- People who forget subscriptions: Lululemon or Gymshark.
Returns and policies
The membership page says VIP members receive free returns and exchanges for qualifying orders and free shipping on qualifying orders. The page does not state a return window or shipping terms for non-members. The brand says there is no cancellation fee and you can cancel anytime, with cancellation taking effect after 30 days. The page is inconsistent on skipping, so check it at sign-up.
Lululemon gives 30 days for unworn, unwashed items with hang tags and proof of purchase. "We Made Too Much" items are final sale unless you are a member. Return shipping cost is not stated.
Verdict on policy: Lululemon's is simpler; Fabletics's depends on membership.
| Brand | Return window | Policy in brief | Guarantee / trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vuori | 120 days | Vuori accepts returns for gear bought on its website and in Vuori retail stores within a 120-day period, refunded to the original form of payment (the help-cen… | Help-center article title: 'Investment in Happiness' (120-day return policy) |
| ASICS | 90 days | Returns accepted within 90 calendar days of purchase; items must be unworn, unwashed, unaltered, in original packaging with tags. Returns are free for OneASICS… | — |
| Brooks | 90 days | 'Take your Brooks gear for a 90-day trial run' under the Run Happy guarantee ('If you're not happy, we're not happy'). The page states 'no shipping or re-stock… | Run Happy 90-day trial |
| Nike | 60 days | 'We give you 60 days to try out your Nike purchase.' Returns or exchanges within 60 days of online delivery or Nike store purchase; proof of purchase required.… | 60-day return window to try your purchase |
| Reebok | 60 days | 'We offer free returns within 60 days of your delivery.' Items go back in original box or any available box with the trackable UPS label provided; exchanges on… | — |
| New Balance | 45 days | Returns accepted in new condition within 45 days of shipment (online) or purchase (in store); receipt, order confirmation or packing list required. In-store re… | — |
| Rhone | 45 days | US returns must be within 45 days of purchase; items must be unworn, non-final sale, with original tags attached (shoes, undergarments and accessories in origi… | — |
| Alo Yoga | 30 days | Alo accepts returns of unworn and unused items within 30 days of purchase for a full refund; items must be unworn, unwashed, unaltered, with tags and proof of … | — |
| Athleta | 30 days | Online purchases can be returned or exchanged within 30 days of delivery in original condition (unwashed, unworn); Encore Premier members get 45 days and All-A… | Give-It-A-Workout Guarantee: 'If it doesn't perform, return it within 30 days of the delivery date.' |
| Beyond Yoga | 30 days | Returns must be initiated within 30 days of purchase with a valid receipt (outside the window reviewed case by case). Items must be unworn, unwashed, unaltered… | — |
| CRZ Yoga | 30 days | Returns must be requested within 30 days of delivery; items unworn, unwashed, tags attached, original packaging. Bulk Sale and Final Sale items are not eligibl… | — |
| Girlfriend Collective | 30 days | Returns must be within 30 days of ship date (the page says the period is being extended to 60 days due to recent developments); items must be unworn and unwash… | — |
| Gymshark | 30 days | Online orders can be returned within 30 days of delivery, unworn, unused and unwashed (care label must not be cut out). Underwear, swimwear, bottles and person… | — |
| HOKA | 30 days | 'Fly for 30' guarantee: send items back within 30 days of the original purchase for a full refund or exchange, 'no questions asked'; HOKA may deny requests it … | Fly for 30 Guarantee (30 days; 60 for members) |
| Lululemon | 30 days | Purchases can be returned or exchanged within 30 days (from delivery for online orders, from purchase date in store). Items must be original, unworn and unwash… | — |
| NOBULL | 30 days | Send items back within 30 days of delivery; worn or used items are eligible during the 30-day trial period. Gift cards and final sale cannot be returned. Retur… | 30-day trial; worn items accepted |
| Saucony | 30 days | Unworn items can be returned free within 30 days of when they were shipped, in the original shoebox or apparel bag. Gift cards and final sale items cannot be r… | — |
| Skechers | 30 days | Skechers' US site accepts returns of unworn items in original packaging within 30 days of delivery. Check the brand's returns page for current conditions, as t… | — |
| Ten Thousand | 30 days | Page states 'a complimentary 30 day return policy' for US orders; request within the window and mail back within 14 days (strict). Items must be unworn, unwash… | — |
| Adidas | Unverified | General US return window and conditions could not be read (policy pages loaded without text). The 30 Day Guarantee for performance running shoes says to 'Retur… | 30 Day Guarantee for performance running shoes (worn returns allowed within 30 days) |
| Fabletics | Unverified | Return window for non-members is not stated on the membership page. VIP members get 'free returns and exchanges for qualifying orders' and free shipping on qua… | — |
| On | Unverified | US return window could not be read. On's 30-day run trial page says members can test running shoes for 30 days with a full refund, but it states the trial is o… | 30-day Run Trial for members (page states Switzerland/UK only) |
| Outdoor Voices | Unverified | Return window and conditions could not be read (returns page showed only a heading). | — |
| Panache | Unverified | No official policy read. Retail partners (e.g. Title Nine, Fleet Feet) sell Panache Sport; their own return policies apply. | — |
| Under Armour | Unverified | Return policy text could not be read (help-center article failed to load). A site banner shows 'FREE Standard Shipping on orders $99+ & FREE Returns'. | — |
As stated on each brand’s policy page when we checked (October 2026). Policies change — confirm at checkout.
Real-life scenarios
Suppose you want four outfits a year and you like to browse the new drops. A VIP membership with a monthly credit can work if you remember to skip the months you do not shop, because the charge hits on the 6th. Now suppose you want one great pair of leggings and nothing else; a membership adds friction and risk, while Lululemon's one-time purchase with a 30-day return window keeps things simple.
Before subscribing, set a calendar reminder for the 1st to the 5th of each month, screenshot the terms and decide in advance how many credits you are willing to let expire. If that feels like homework, buy elsewhere.
Bottom line
Fabletics is a good fit if you will actually use the membership and care about price and sizes. Lululemon is the simpler, premium buy. Compare no-subscription alternatives in Gymshark vs Lululemon and see the Fabletics brand page.
Frequently asked questions
Is Fabletics a good Lululemon alternative?
For price and sizing range, often yes. For fabric feel and consistency, Lululemon usually gets the edge in owner comparisons. The membership model is the biggest difference, so decide whether a monthly credit system suits you before choosing. Compare reviews for specific styles before choosing.
Is Fabletics cheaper than Lululemon?
Typically yes per item, especially with member credits. But the VIP membership costs $69.95 per month unless you skip, per the brand's page, and unused credits expire after 12 months. A Lululemon Align is about $98 at full price with no subscription. Compare what you would actually pay.
Do you have to join Fabletics VIP?
The brand's page describes VIP membership, and non-member terms were not stated on that page. Check the help center for non-member pricing and return terms before ordering. Do not assume the same discounts or return rules apply without membership. Do not assume the same discounts or return rules apply without membership, and check before you order.
How do I cancel Fabletics?
The brand says there is no cancellation fee and you can cancel anytime by online form, chat, email or phone, with cancellation taking effect after 30 days. The page lists two phone numbers and is inconsistent on skipping, so keep a record of what you agreed to.
Which has the better return policy?
Lululemon offers a clear 30 days with conditions. Fabletics VIP members get free returns and exchanges on qualifying orders, but non-member terms were not stated. If you want simplicity, Lululemon's policy is easier to understand. Neither is perfect, so compare the actual terms on each brand's page before you buy anything.